Director and CEO

Professor Elizabeth Hartland

Professor Elizabeth Hartland is Director and CEO of Hudson Institute of Medical Research and Chair, Department of Molecular and Translational Science, Monash University.

Institute Director, Professor Elizabeth Hartland

A national and international leader in the field of microbiology and immunology, Professor Hartland has made a considerable impact on the pathogenesis of infections caused by Gram-negative pathogens, with a focus on mechanisms of bacterial colonisation and immune evasion.

She has held a Royal Society/NHMRC Howard Florey Fellowship in the Department of Biochemistry, Imperial College London and was an inaugural Australian Research Council Future Fellow at the University of Melbourne.

Professor Hartland has held the positions of Head of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology, University of Melbourne, Deputy Director of the Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity and Acting Pro-Vice Chancellor, Research Partnerships and External Relations at the University of Melbourne.

She is the recipient of several national prizes and awards, including Australian Society for Microbiology Fenner Research Award, election as a Fellow of the Australian Society for Microbiology (FASM) (2011), Finalist for the Australian Museum Eureka Prize for Infectious Diseases (2014) and was invited to deliver the University of Queensland School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences Skerman Lecture (2014) and the Molecular Analysis of Bacterial Pathogens Conference keynote talk. In the last five years Professor Hartland has been invited to speak at a wide range of international meetings, including those outside the discipline of microbiology.

Professor Hartland is an accomplished research supervisor and mentor and has supervised 13 PhD students to completion as primary supervisor. Three of her former students have won NHMRC Early Career Fellowships and one former student is the recent recipient of an ARC Future Fellowship; a former PhD student was awarded the 2014 University of Melbourne Chancellor’s Prize for Excellence in a PhD Thesis, the 2014 Deans Award for Excellence in a PhD Thesis and the 2014 Premier’s Award for Health and Medical Research.